It’s called the LaMarcus Aldridge Rule, but maybe it should be called the Kevin Durant Rule. Because it seems to always go his way.
With the Thunder holding on to a two-point lead against the Nets, 108-106, with 1:52 left, Durant drove hard to his right and tossed a floating layup at the backboard. Kris Humphries pinned the ball against the glass, simultaneously it appeared. Ball to Brooklyn, down two with a chance to tie or take the lead.
Instead, a whistle blows, two points to the Thunder. Goaltending on Humphries.
This time the play was reviewable because, of course, the play last season against the Blazers where Aldridge blocked Durant’s shot against the backboard except OKC got two points. The league admitted error on the play, but not before the Thunder forced overtime and won the game. Even with the review this time around though, the call still went KD’s way, OKC got a big two points and then finished off the Nets for a big 117-111 win to go to 15-4. Keep Reading…